30 Days of Thanks #12- The Real Defenders of Freedom

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

The kids and I have the day off of school and, as I have discussed previously, we love breakfast. Love may not properly convey they proper amount of devotion that we have to that particular meal. Whenever we get a free morning we take a pilgrimage to one of the sacred temples of the pancake–IHOP, Cracker Barrel, or Denny’s. We wisely choose grails of chocolate milk, decode the mysteries of the kid’s menus, and whip our way through boulders of scrambled eggs.

Despite (or maybe because of) our late arrival, IHOP was packed this morning. The service was still quick, the food was still amazing, and the five of us ate approximately 5,000 calories of fried batter topped with butter, syrup, and various fruits…and I had a Bacon Temptation Omelet. We also discovered that IHOP was giving free meals to all veterans in honor of their service to our country.

That simple act made me realize how proud I am of my country. I love that even though we were all at each other’s throats last week about the political policies of our nation, we all recognize who really protects our freedoms. Hint- it’s not the politicians we were praising so much last week.

Today, November 12, I am thankful for the men and women who have served our country and for all of the businesses and individuals who are going out of their way to show their gratitude this weekend.

 

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 12, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?