30 Days of Thanks #11- Riley

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

On November 11, 2009 Janet and I sent our two kids to stay with their grandparents and went to the hospital to wait for a third.

That turned out to be a really interesting night. The delivery was quick and easy…

for me anyway. Janet didn’t enjoy it as much as I did, but it was over soon enough and we were back in our room Skyping my sister in St. Croix before too long.

Other than immediate family, we had only two visitors that day because Virginia Beach was slammed with a Nor’easter. I didn’t have to mention the visitors but needed an excuse to put up this picture of Eric.

Much of the area lost power and a tree fell through my parents’ roof.

It gets better…

My sister used to be a birth registrar at the hospital and later explained that it’s not all that uncommon to have a fight in the maternity wing, but I wasn’t expecting to witness one. Apparently, adultery is illegal in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Therefore, it is illegal for a married woman to put a man’s name in the “father” blank of the birth certificate who is not her husband. The same night our daughter was born, another baby’s biological father was being told about this stipulation and was causing quite a commotion just down the hall. To make matters worse, the husband showed up. Punches were thrown. Curses were yelled. I shut our door and turned the room lights off like a chicken.

I’ve often thought back on that night and felt sorry for that baby. He/she is turning three today and I can’t help but think that his/her life is much different than my three-year-old’s life. I hope he/she is safe and happy, but I have my doubts.

Today, November 11, I am grateful for my newest girl and am very grateful that her mom and I can provide a safe and pleasant home for her.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 11, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

