30 Days of Thanks, #1- Bad Days Turned 180°

Back by popular demand…
Well, that’s not exactly accurate. I’m pretty sure this was not popular last year. Come to think of it, not one person demanded that I do it again, either. Someone mentioned it to me recently. Let’s try that again…

Back by unpopular mention, I will be writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day of November. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful.

As I have discussed before, my six-year old son, Jack, is not going to be a world-class athlete. If he takes after his dad, he will probably be a world-class fan and a world class participant, but he probably won’t be on a Wheaties box any time soon.

Do they still put athletes on Wheaties boxes? Do they still make Wheaties? Did anybody ever actually eat Wheaties because they like them? Those things were disgusting  but I choked down every bite from the boxes I begged my mom to buy so that I could play like Michael Jordan. It never worked. I played like Jeff Postlewaite with a stomach full of flavorless mush.

Jack is playing flag football and had a few really good games at the beginning of the season. He ran for two touchdowns in his second game and had several good carries and a few nice flag pulls in the third. After every good play he looks over to the sideline and gives me a thumbs up. After bad plays he looks over and gives me a thumbs up. After he gets hit in the nose with a football and starts crying he gives me a thumbs up. I think he just likes giving the thumbs up sign.

I was out of town for game number four and Jack wanted to send me a message the night before the game so, with the help of Janet’s iPhone, he sent me this video:

Unfortunately, the game didn’t go the way he had planned. The other team was bigger and faster and, according to my wife, his flags were on the ground more than they were on his belt. The only thing that was on the ground as much as his flags was Jack himself. The game ended with him taking a shot to the nose before running to the sidelines for comfort from his mom. He described the whole thing to me later by simply saying “I didn’t play so good and we lost.”

When my wife was describing all of this to me on the phone I asked “Is he ok? Is he going to get over it?” She responded “Oh, yeah, they had snacks right after the game.” I love how something simple can turn a bad day completely around. I know that sometimes bad days are unavoidable and, for adults, they can involve circumstances much worse than a lost game or a forehead to the nose, but they can often be turned around by something just as simple. A compliment, an encouraging Facebook status, a text from a friend, or a cup of coffee can brighten the worst day. That’s what these next 30 posts are about for me–publicly recognizing the things that friends, family, total strangers, and God do to make life better. I know bad days will come, but when they do I hope I remember that…

Today, November 1, I am grateful for the little things that can turn a bad day around.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 1, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. If you substitute “leftover Halloween candy” for “snacks”, I’m right with Jack on this one.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #2- Stuff Christians Like « 141 plus

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #3- When Life Gives you Pumpkins « 141 plus

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #4- A Starting Point for Wisdom « 141 plus

  4. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #5- A Busy Weekend « 141 plus

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #6- The Opportunity to Vote…Twice? « 141 plus

  6. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #7- A Backward Gospel « 141 plus

  7. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #8- imagination « 141 plus

  8. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #9- I am NOT Attending the Ladies’ Retreat « 141 plus

  9. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #10- No One Killed Their Father « 141 plus

  10. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #11- Riley « 141 plus

  11. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #12- The Real Defenders of Freedom « 141 plus

  12. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #13- God’s Conditional Promises « 141 plus

  13. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #14- Being Ahead « 141 plus

  14. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #15- The Bright Side « 141 plus

  15. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #16- A Good God « 141 plus

  16. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #19- The Simplicity of Thanksgiving « 141 plus

  17. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #21- A Short Week of School « 141 plus

  18. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #22- A Lack of Hunger « 141 plus

  19. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #23- Being a Dad « 141 plus

  20. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #24- The Good in the Bad « 141 plus

  21. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #25- My Wife « 141 plus

  22. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #26- There’s More to Life Than Football « 141 plus

  23. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #28- Reuniting With Old Friends « 141 plus

  24. Pingback: 141 plus

  25. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #30- God’s Plan « 141 plus

What do you think?

