30 Days of Thanks #8- imagination

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

Facebook is exactly the same after an election or an SEC football game—the losers are all blaming other people and still claiming to be the best, while the winners are completely intolerable.

I’m not thankful for that, I just wanted to mention it and offend some SEC fans.

Over the past six months we have spent the better part of the world’s bandwidth arguing about employment rates, financial plans, and the national deficit, but there is one thing about which I will not even entertain an argument: BREAKFAST FOR DINNER IS AWESOME!

Yeah, I used all caps. I believe in breakfast for dinner that strongly. Why would you turn down bacon, scrambled eggs with cheese, and waffles just because the clock says “PM”? I certainly didn’t when Janet placed it in front of me last night. In fact, I had seconds and so did all three of my kids. Yep, she made enough for everyone to have seconds. Janet knows how much we love the sugary, fatty, carb-loaded junk food that somehow passes itself off as “the most important meal of the day.”

While we were eating, Jack suddenly got very excited and started screaming about ducks on my waffle. Sure enough, he was right:

I understand this is no Virgin Mary on a potato chip or Elvis on a Cheeto, but I am expecting a call from the Virginia Board of Tourism anytime…or at least Donald Duck’s manager.

Today, November 8, I am thankful for creative imagination and a chance to laugh with my kids.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 8, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The first thing I thought was nostrils instead of duck eyes. Look at it as if the waffle is a face, or two faces in this case.

    Also, SEC teams are stuffing the ballot box.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Thanks #12- The Real Defenders of Freedom « 141 plus

What do you think?

