Grinch List #12: Short Days, Long Nights

SolsticeThe last few Decembers I have made a Grinch List– things that I would steal from the holiday season if I could. This year I’m going to try to turn that list into something positive. Along with the reasons I am annoyed by each item, I will try to find a solution–an angle to adjust the way I feel about it in order to celebrate the season appropriately. I can’t promise I will change my mind about anything, but I can attempt to change my attitude.

I don’t mind going to work before the sun comes up or coming home after the sun goes down, but doing both on the same day is more than a little frustrating. The short daylight hours give me the feeling that I can get less accomplished in the same 24 hour period. I get tired. I’m SAD.

This week is the worst of the year. With the Winter Solstice barreling toward us like a runaway Polar Express, the depressingly short days are getting even shorter. Here’s how much time the sun will be up this week in Virginia Beach:

Monday- 9 hours, 39 minutes
Tuesday- 9 hours, 38 minutes
Wednesday- 9 hours, 38 minutes
Thursday- 9 hours, 38 minutes
Friday- 9 hours, 38 minutes
Saturday- 9 hours, 37 minutes

Saturday will be the shortest day of the year…and maybe that’s a good way to look at it. If we can survive this week, it will only get better. Let’s fight through. Let’s look toward the brighter days ahead—the days that are literally brighter. Instead of complaining and focusing on the negative, I will remain positive and remember that my inner Spring can’t be affected by the Winter around me.

I won’t let the physical darkness creep into my attitude this week.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on December 16, 2013, in Grinch List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

