Grinch List #8: Deflated Inflatables

The last few Decembers I have made a Grinch List– things that I would steal from the holiday season if I could. This year I’m going to try to turn that list into something positive. Along with the reasons I am annoyed by each item, I will try to find a solution–an angle to adjust the way I feel about it in order to celebrate the season appropriately. I can’t promise I will change my mind about anything, but I can attempt to change my attitude.

Is there a more depressing holiday sight than this?deflated

I hate seeing inflatable yard decorations this way. I can’t help but think that some disgruntled Elf took out Santa and Frosty with a BB gun in the middle of the night…and maybe he was right to, Frosty is a pretty despicable character.

I get it, though. Christmas is a busy time. In the next seven days I am attending or participating in two Christmas parties, a Christmas concert, a Christmas play, rehearsals for that play and concert, two basketball games, and a piano recital. Some of you are reading that and thinking “That’s all? Why is he complaining? I have twice that!” We are all stretched thin and apparently even plastic St. Nicks need some down time so…

When I see uninflated yard decorations, I won’t assume it was an act of homicidal North Pole employees or even dwell on the general disorder in the lawn, I will use it as a reminder to seek some down time for physical, emotional, and spiritual restoration.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Grinch List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

