Grinch List #7: Mall kiosks

mall kiosksThe last few Decembers I have made a Grinch List– things that I would steal from the holiday season if I could. This year I’m going to try to turn that list into something positive. Along with the reasons I am annoyed by each item, I will try to find a solution–an angle to adjust the way I feel about it in order to celebrate the season appropriately. I can’t promise I will change my mind about anything, but I can attempt to change my attitude.

Let me save you some time:

  • I am aware of the healing properties of minerals from the Dead Sea.
  • I do not need new insulation in my attic.
  • I am happy with my current bathtub.
  • I am still under contract with my current cell phone plan.
  • I don’t buy unlicensed NFL gear.
  • I don’t wear a watch.
  • I don’t need any more cell phone accessories. Really? A case with Hello Kitty dressed like Batman? Oh, this is for the iPhone 3G…no one has that anymore.
  • Yes, Yes I will need a bandage. The rotors on that helicopter are sharper than you’d think.

I dislike the mall anyway, but when you turn it into some sort of bizarre open-air bazaar, it becomes downright scary. But these people have jobs and Americans are spending and receiving money, so instead of being upset and mean when I have to walk through 43 sales pitches on my way to the food court I’ll remember that…

Christmas is a great time for people to earn some extra cash and I am grateful that there are opportunities for those who need it.

What about you? What are your favorite products sold at mall kiosks?

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Grinch List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

