Grinch List #6: Inconsiderate Customers

The last few Decembers I have made a Grinch List– things that I would steal from the holiday season if I could. This year I’m going to try to turn that list into something positive. Along with the reasons I am annoyed by each item, I will try to find a solution–an angle to adjust the way I feel about it in order to celebrate the season appropriately. I can’t promise I will change my mind about anything, but I can attempt to change my attitude.

I needed some supplies for school yesterday and decided to test my luck at Wal-Mart. I figured since school had just let out and most people weren’t off work yet I was hitting it at the right time. I’ve got to say that it was a rather pleasant experience. The store was busy but not overly crowded and there plenty of cashiers on hand so that no one was waiting in line more than five minutes. Overall, that’s a Wal-Mart win.

The conflict was within my own heart and mind, however. I had to get a few items from opposite sides of the store. While at one end of the store near the garden section, I picked up a particular item and headed toward the grocery section. In the main aisle between the grocery section and the display for those girdles that make you look skinny even if you aren’t, I noticed that the item in my cart was not exactly what I thought it was and, therefore, I should not purchase it. I picked it up and started to place it on top of a nearby display when something I have said many times ran through my head:

The worst part about Wal-Mart is the customers.

Placing an unwanted item down in the wrong section may not be horrible and it certainly isn’t a crime. But it does make other people’s shopping experience worse. It does cause more work for the already-overwhelmed shelving staff. It does make it much more difficult for the store to stock items and account for inventory. I was about to become part of the problem.

I am ashamed of how long it took me to finally decide to make the trip back to the other side of the store and put the item in the correct place. I contemplated stopping at numerous points along the way and unloading my cargo. 300 yards later, I finally made it to the right aisle and replaced the item.

With more customers in stores throughout December, there will be plenty of inconsiderate or just downright rude customers everywhere you shop. There will be people parking like this:handicapped spot

There will be people almost getting their carts into the corral, but not quite making it:carts

There will be people walking slowly in your way, fighting over items that are in short supply, arguing over sale prices, complaining about long lines, cutting each other in line, and just being jerks.

And I will be tempted to join in. But I must resist that urge. As a child of the Christ whose birth made this season special, I must not become part of the problem. It is easy for me to allow my fleshly desires to make me act selfishly but…

When I see other people so caught up in their own busyness that they are acting only for themselves, I will remember that I personally know the Reason this season is so crazy and go out of my way to be selfless.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on December 6, 2013, in Grinch List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

