Mousetrap Pride

Mousetrap is a brilliant game. As you play, you build a ridiculously complicated contraption that will eventually trap your enemy and let you win the game. There is one small problem…

THE TRAP NEVER WORKS!!!

You turn the crank and the boot misses the bucket…the silver ball flies off the track…the plastic ball falls the wrong direction…the diver falls off his platform…the trap gets stuck on its pole…your brother kicks his mouse out of the way…your brother cries way louder than he should when punched…you get in huge trouble.

At least that’s how it went in my house.

Mousetrap Game

Here’s the problem—even when everything is designed for one specific purpose, complicated procedures involving many different pieces are difficult to predict. So why is it that prideful people, like myself, assume that others have some unnatural ability to cause us inconvenience through ridiculously complicated means?

When someone else’s mistake causes me a little more work, I act like they made the mistake just to cause me trouble.

When someone is in my way, I act as if they are there just to irritate me.

When someone’s choice causes me to change plans, I act as if they intentionally chose the path that would cause me the most trouble.

 

NEWSFLASH: The world isn’t a giant game of Mousetrap with you as the little plastic mouse and everyone else turning the crank. How prideful do you have to be to approach problems that way? Apparently about as prideful as me.

 

Sometimes I need to step back and realize that no one is planning my demise…

Sometimes life gets tough and it is rarely caused by someone else’s genius plan…

Sometimes people aren’t even thinking about how their normal lives are affecting me…

…and that’s ok…

Sometimes it isn’t about me.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on October 30, 2013, in Self-Help, Society in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

