I’m a Little Stitious

I’m not superstitious. I just like to make sure that I play my part in helping my team win. Here’s how that played out recently:

On Thursday, January 31 my dad, brother, and I were about an hour from home watching our high school teams win their season finale tournaments until almost 10:00 (Go Crusaders!). We rode back to Virginia Beach together listening to the Virginia/Duke game on the radio and arrived home with about nine minutes of game time remaining and decided to watch the remainder of the game at my parent’s house. After all, three fans parting ways with a ten point lead could have been disastrous.

Although not sports fans (at least not like the three males of the family), my sister and my mom had the game on while they were doing other things in the house. My sister was in the middle of composing a rather lengthy post for an online discussion board as part of a class assignment for her work at Liberty University, but joined in the intense watching when we arrived.

With about five minutes remaining and a ten point lead, my phone dinged as my sister (her name is being withheld to protect her identity) updated her Facebook status to “is trying to complete a class assignment while my parents and brothers are all here enthusiastically watching UVA beat Duke. Not a bad distraction.” She even had the audacity to tag me in the post.

I was outraged! You can’t claim victory when you are the underdog and there are still 5 minutes remaining! I told her she had cursed Virginia and that the “basketball gods” don’t smile on that type of thing. David and my dad completely agreed and, as Duke hit a three within a minute of her post, we started blaming her for the imminent collapse. She denied her obvious mistake claiming “I said they were winning now, not going to win! It’s present tense!” When Duke stole the ball and cut the lead to five on the next possession, she had to admit her error and agreed to delete the post.

I argued that the damage had been done and simply deleting the post would not remove the curse. She must make a sacrifice of atonement to the keeper of the brackets, Joe Lunardi. We all sat in stunned silence as Virginia flailed around the court and we knew we were in the presence of the one who caused the collapse.

A few minutes later she realized “Oh, no! In my rush to delete the Facebook post, I closed the discussion board tab!” She had lost all four paragraphs she had typed…and Joe Harris immediately hit a three pointer! A sacrifice had been offered, restitution had been made, forgiveness granted, and UVa went on to win.

The next day, I posted this story to a sports message board along with the statement “UVa punched their ticket to the big dance!” I don’t have to tell you what happened next—Virginia lost two straight games to inferior opponents and was placed outside ESPN’s predicted field of 68.

I had to make my own sacrifice. On Saturday, I purchased a honey bun from 7-11. Not a four-for-a-dollar Little Debbie deal. I’m talking about a ridiculously unhealthy, 850 calorie, mammoth honey bun with white icing a half inch thick covering the top and sides. It is sitting on my dresser under a Virginia hat, not to be eaten until UVa’s season is completed.

photo (2)

And lo, it came to pass that on the first day of the week the Cavaliers did prevail against the Terrapins of Maryland, and thus have they found favor in the eyes of Joe Lunardi.

That’s not superstitious at all.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

