Mary’s Gift

Remember this song?

What can I give Him
Poor as I am
If I were a shepherd,
I would bring a Lamb
If I were a wise man,
I would do my part
So what can I give Him
I’ll give Him my heart

Probably no human has given more to Jesus for Christmas than His mother Mary. In order for the Messiah to be born she not only gave of her physical self, but she gave up her plans, her dreams, probably her friends, and definitely her reputation. Why was she willing to do this? Why was she willing to alter her entire life for this baby?

The answers to those questions are evident in the first sentence of Mary’s praise to God that we call the Magnificat:

My soul doth magnify the Lord, and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour.
-Luke 1:46-47 (KJV)

She understood that her purpose was to glorify God. The very nature of her being was to magnify His greatness. Her joy was not found in the temporal but the eternal. Her focus was not on her mortal life but on the promise of salvation that Jesus represented. The reality is that her earthly circumstances no longer mattered because this birth was about to change eternity for Mary and anyone else who would believe. Mary understood that her life was meaningless compared to what God wanted to do for all of humanity.

And so, this Christmas, I know what I should give Jesus, but I probably need to ask myself this question:

What am I focused on to the point that it is keeping me from truly understanding the importance of that baby’s birth?

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on December 13, 2012, in Biblical Thought and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

