30 Days of Thanks #26- There’s More to Life Than Football

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

I’m convinced that sports fans are defined as much by the teams we hate as the teams we love. Ask any Yankees or Red Sox fans how they feel about the other team. Ask any Redskins fan about the Cowboys or any Steelers fan about the Ravens. Ask anyone with a brain about Troy Aikman. Ask any fan of any team from any other conference about the SEC.

For those of you too dense to figure it out, here’s why the rest of the nation can’t stand you: YOU CLAIM EVERY SEC VICTORY AS YOUR OWN!!! If you’re an Alabama fan, you have a lot to be proud of lately, but I know most of you were were just as intolerably arrogant when Auburn, LSU, and Florida won titles. I’ve heard Tennessee fans claiming superiority. Something just seems wrong about that.

So yes, I’ll keep cheering for every BCS possibility that does not end with an SEC team hoisting the trophy…even if that means selling my soul to the Irish.

My wife knows about my intense dislike of the reigning champs and still chose to dress our youngest like this today:

Today, November 26, I am grateful that there are more important things in life than football. Otherwise, I might have disowned my own daughter for wearing hound’s-tooth.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 26, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Riley’s never looked cuter!

What do you think?

