30 Days of Thanks #15- The Bright Side

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

I absolutely hate this time of year. Specifically, the two weeks between Daylight Savings Time ending and Thanksgiving are the worst. In no particular order, here are the reasons that I believe we should just completely remove these weeks from the calendar:

  • Everyone has the flu. I’m sure someone is reading this and thinking “I don’t have the flu.” You’re just the exception that proves the rule.
  • Fall allergies. Maybe it’s the cold weather or my asthmatic tendencies, but fall allergies are way worse for me than spring allergies. My nose is a faucet and my eyes are sprinklers. I wonder why Solomon didn’t include that analogy in his Song of Songs?
  • Post-nasal drip. You know that tickle you get in the back of your throat this time of year? The one that has you coughing all the time and never really feeling like you can take a deep breath? You know what that is? It’s snot running down the back of your throat! Mmmmm.
  • Short days. Daylight Savings Time is great! You know what’s not great? Stopping it. You’re telling me that after we found a way to get an extra hour of useful sunlight every day, we’re just going to give it back in November? I don’t live on a farm and I don’t go to bed at 6:00 pm so I’d rather it not be dark when I get off of work.

I’ve got to confess that these ideas are the ones that have been permeating my congested head the last few days. After I coughed through an entire chemistry lesson today, I apologized and said “My allergies are killing me. I hate this time of year!” A few of the students were shocked and said “Really? We have Thanksgiving, fires and roasted marshmallows, the smell of fireplaces, Christmas shopping, colorful leaves, hot chocolate!” Seriously, they rattled those off in 3.6 seconds.

It made me think that maybe this time of year isn’t so awful. Even if it is, eventually the days will get longer, my allergies will clear up, and my sinus will dry out. Until then…

Today, November 15, I am thankful for the good things this time of year brings…even if there are some negative side effects.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 15, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

