30 Days of Thanks #14- Being Ahead

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

Wednesdays are my long days. I usually get to work before 7:00 and go home around 5:30 with just enough time to scarf down some food before coming back to church and teaching the Young Adults Class. Last Wednesday was the same as always—non-stop go until around 5:00 when I got the message that we would not be doing the Young Adults Class.

I’ve got to confess that I was not really happy about it. I had already completely prepared the lesson and had even put off some other very important tasks in order to make sure it was as good as possible. I was seriously stressed and then I was told that much of my time had been wasted. At least that’s the way I viewed it then. Today is a different story.

This week I am reaping the benefits of my unintentional planning ahead. I am looking forward to a nice, relaxing day of normal work because I am completely ready for tonight. I’m sure something crazy will happen, but until then…

Today, November 14, I am thankful that last week’s really busy Wednesday has turned this Wednesday into just another normal day.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 14, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

