30 Days of Thanks #10- No One Killed Their Father

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

My wife is out of town for the weekend so I am trying to play a one-man zone defense against three kids. I have the height and strength advantage but if I get complacent for even one second out there it could turn into a runaway victory for mayhem and destruction…both of which involve me spending a few extra hours cleaning before Janet gets home tonight.

Fortunately, I had a game plan. After Riley woke up from her nap yesterday afternoon (I consider that in itself a win as she tends to throw herself into the pit of despair when she is tired) I tallied my resources and enacted Operation Keep ’em Busy ‘Till Bedtime. We ate a cheap, albeit non-nutritious meal at McDonalds followed by an hour of squealing our heads off in the Play Place. Just before the volume level drove me off the cliffs of insanity we headed to Wal-Mart and each picked out our own $.49 doughnut. So the evening wasn’t really healthy, but I needed something to keep their mouths full for a while after all the screaming. Somehow, I think a celery stick would have made each child melt into a miserable, vomitous mass.

We stormed back home to the castle to finish off the night by watching the Princess Bride together. I call any night where no one ends up mostly dead a success, but I have to say that I really had a good time too. Inconceivably…

Today, November 10, I am thankful that sometimes the best times are the simplest ones.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 10, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

