30 Days of Thanks #6- The Opportunity to Vote…Twice?

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

I am really beginning to question the entire election process. Since the last election, my brother and I both moved. He moved into a different voting district and I moved into a different neighborhood but remained in the same district. Because of all the address changing, our respective families had to update our voter registrations. All four of us (me, my wife, David, his wife) received new voter registration cards with our new addresses.

Here’s the weird part that makes me question our election process. A second voter registration card with my name showed up at my brother’s house with his address and his voting district printed on it. I did not discover this until last night, but apparently, I was accidentally registered in two different Virginia voting districts. I certainly didn’t fill out two applications, but received two voter cards, nonetheless:

I want to go on record that I only voted in my own district and I only voted once. In light of recent scandals, I thought it wise to clarify that.

The whole thing is a little unnerving to me. I wasn’t trying to be on the register twice, but what if someone was? All I had to do was fill out some paperwork and then present that card they mailed me in order to have a vote. Would they have accepted my vote at both polling places? Is it really that easy to exploit the system?

Regardless of that minor controversy, Election Day is always exciting! Seeing the people act and be involved in public policy always makes me feel a sense of pride in our country. Knowing that we choose our leader and that we will follow him even if the one elected isn’t the one we voted for is what our nation is all about.

Today, November 5, I am thankful that no matter the outcome of the election, I was able to express my opinions in the proper way.

 

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 6, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

