30 Days of Thanks #4- A Starting Point for Wisdom

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

This morning, like most Sundays, I will be leading the 2gether Bible study at our church. It is definitely my favorite hour of the week. The group is awesome and welcoming and we spend as much time laughing as anything else. We usually learn something, too. I’m sure I’ll get back to talking about that group sometime later this month.

Using the D6 curriculum from Randall House, we are about two-thirds of the way into a six-year journey through the Bible. This morning we will be introducing the book of Proverbs, and this statement from the Fusion Teaching Guide has changed the way I am looking at it: “The goal of the book of Proverbs is to know wisdom in an intimate way and weave it into the fabric of your life so it cannot be separated from you.”

You can check out our online Bible study notes on YouVersion Live, but the main gist of the lesson is that wisdom comes from a proper understanding and reverence for God. That takes a lot of the pressure off. If I focus on the foundation and make sure my thought processes are grounded in a relationship with God, wise decisions and actions will follow. And if I get stuck there’s a whole book full of wise statements waiting for me.

Today, November 4, I am thankful for the practical wisdom in God’s Word.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 4, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks, Biblical Thought and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

