30 Days of Thanks #3- When Life Gives you Pumpkins

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

Never read to your children. It only fills their heads with impossible ideas that they can become something and have happy, adventurous lives. Sure, there are “scientific” studies about kids who are read to being smarter, but an imagination may be more dangerous than illiteracy. Don’t believe me? Several years ago, we discovered The Pumpkin Patch Parable and have read it consistently each Fall. When my kids discovered that there were pumpkin seeds in the waste from the jack-o-lantern we carved last year, they knew exactly how to plant them–just dig a hole next to the trash can outside and wait for October.

Let me interject that it is one of my pet peeves for people to pronounce the word punk-in. I am aware that I mispronunciate many words and mispell many others, but that one just drives me crazy. Punk-ins!

The good news is that their child-sized brains forgot all about their overgrown squash farm until, sometime in August, a vine started growing right by the trashcan. When two or three more started creeping along beside the first, their excitement (fueled by those lousy books) was uncontrollable. Their optimism may have been in full bloom, but the pumpkin vines certainly weren’t.

This October they had to settle for a couple of store-bought, $.89 pumpkins “just until yours finish growing.”

And then a miracle happened! I would attribute it to the Great Pumpkin but I never can remember that story and have no clue what the Great Pumpkin actually does, Charlie Brown. This is what my front yard looked like on Thursday morning after Halloween night:

First of all, I need to commend the pranksters for a funny, non-destructive prank. They didn’t smash the gourds all over my lawn or smear pumpkin guts on my car. They simply spelled out my initials with some (hopefully legally-obtained) Cucurbita. Yeah, it says “JP”! Just flip your computer monitor upside down and you can see it. I’ll wait while you do it then continue waiting while you go stand in line at Best Buy buying a new one…

…you’re back? Ok, so the prank was tastefully done and you would have thought it was Christmas at my house. The kids were yelling “Where did all these pumpkins come from?!” “Can we keep them?!” “The big one’s mine!” Ok, that last scream was mine. By the time I got home from work, Janet and the kids had neatly arranged them into a fall-ish walkway.

Today, November 3, I am grateful for the cool prank that will be talked about at my house for years.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 3, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

