30 Days of Thanks #2- Stuff Christians Like

Throughout the month of November I am writing about the first thing for which I am consciously thankful each day. I am doing this simply as a way to be more intentionally grateful. For more on this project, check out the first one or even last year’s 30 Days of Thanks.

It was bound to happen someday. After writing about over 1300 things that Christians may or may not like, Christian author “thousandaire” Jon Acuff ran out of ideas. Fortunately, sarcasm is both my spiritual gift and love language so I was able to step in and give him the help he needed. Although I was expecting the call, nothing really prepares you for a 3am conversation with a desperate man hopped up on orange drink and VBS cookies.

The above account may or may not be entirely accurate. It is possible that SCL is still pumping out great material every day. It is feasible that I’ve submitted other posts to SCL and Jon got tired of hearing me whine. Either way…

Today, November 2, I am grateful for the opportunity to guest post on Stuff Christians Like and for Jon Acuff’s willingness to share his platform.

I wonder if anyone clicked the link on SCL to come to my blog and then clicked the link on my blog to go back to SCL? If you are trapped in an endless loop, you can stop clicking now.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 2, 2012, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on the guest post!

  2. My failed SCL guest post:

    http://www.logan.cc/blog/2012/10/flavored-communion/

    I’ve actually had 4 rejected. One will be on another blog soon, and two are still being shopped around 🙂

    • Does Jon tell you they are rejected? For the posts of mine that Jon hasn’t published, I never got any feedback. I don’t know if he’s considering them, scheduling them, or rejecting them. A sort of guest-post purgatory.

      • I didn’t hear back from one in a while, so I submitted it elsewhere. Once it got accepted there, I told Jon to no longer consider it (I assumed it was rejected anyways). After that, he responded that he was rejecting all of them.

        It would be nice to know if there was some time frame to know when you’re post has been pocket vetoed at least. Otherwise you end up asking for submissions, ask that they not be published anywhere, and don’t give people any indication when they can use what they’ve worked hard on.

  3. Thanks for representing us FWB’s on such a large scale. As the old timers say, “ya done good.”

What do you think?

