The View from Right-Center: a Church Softball Sophomore’s Experiences

Ever notice how it’s really easy to do right without doing best? I missed my opportunity to do best yesterday…but let me set the context first. If you’re too lazy for context or have the attention span of a gnat, you may skip to paragraph 6.

Last night the Gateway Free Will Baptist Church softball team took the field for our first official double header of the season. Last year was my first season on the team and, as I pulled out my glove, I had many fond memories of our 4-14 campaign last year. In my rookie season I batted .333 and had 8 errors playing left-center field. I know what you’re thinking and you’re right–that is a pretty pitiful stat line for D league slow pitch softball.

Oh, you weren’t thinking that the stats were pitiful? You think it’s pitiful to know my stats in D league slow pitch softball? Hmmm. That’s an interesting perspective. I’ll have to consider that.

I had a distinct feeling that this season wouldn’t be a lot better for me when I looked at the glove I had dug out from under the shoes in the bottom of my closet and realized it is still too small for an outfielder’s glove and it still has my sister’s name scribbled in it from that time she borrowed it 14 years ago. It’s hard to pretend you’re a manly slugger when your Ken Griffey Jr. Rawlings says “Christi” in pink Sharpie.

Surprisingly, we won both of our games after getting down early in both. Our pitcher hit a walk-off single in the first game, and we managed to hold on for a two run win as the other team’s best hitters only scored one run in the final two innings.

I had gone 1 for 3 in the first game and it was the second inning before I had my first opportunity in the second game. The first pitch was a little low for my liking but it was definitely a strike and the umpire called it as such. I smiled and said “I’m not happy about it, but you definitely got that one right.” I hit the next pitch really hard back up the middle and the pitcher reacted quickly to knock it down with his glove but had to waste valuable seconds going after it as it rolled away from him. I am very sure that my $15 WalMart left cleat hit the bag before the ball hit the first baseman’s glove. Unfortunately for me, the umpire didn’t see it that way.

So now I had a choice–get upset or jog back to the dugout without making a scene. I managed to choose the latter and jogged smiling back past home plate and the obviously-mistaken ump. That was a great choice but my mouth just couldn’t stay closed. As I trotted by, still smiling, I said “I liked the strike call, that one, not so much” and chuckled to let him know I wasn’t really arguing.

Why did I need to do that? Did the umpire really need my opinion? Did it help him to make a better call next time? Did it make me look better? Did it bring glory to God or was it intended to make me look better? How does hitting a ball back to the pitcher and then making a dumb comment to an official make me look better anyway?

No, I didn’t make a scene or lose my cool, but I certainly wasn’t wise.

When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent. (Proverbs 10:19 ESV)

1st game stats

 

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Biblical Thought, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

