30 Days of Thanks, day 30- Action

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to be more intentionally grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

When I first started this Thanksgiving project, I thought the last 30 Days of Thanks post would be called “Day 30- The End of the Month.” I thought that I would be so tired of thinking up something new (and hopefully not boring) to be thankful for every day that I would welcome the end. Fortunately, I have discovered that I have way more to be grateful for than I could ever squeeze into 500 words a day for one month.

I’m not sure what I expected to accomplish. I know my stated purpose was “to be more intentionally grateful” (at least it was after my sister corrected my split infinitive). I’m not sure if I am but I feel like I have learned a lot about gratitude and my priorities.

Some days I genuinely wanted someone else to know that I was grateful for what they had done for me. Some days I just wrote about something that I thought would be entertaining. Some days I was seriously contemplating a specific blessing in my life so I wrote about it. A few days I chose to ignore a blessing that I was extremely thankful for because it was too personal or I hadn’t fully comprehended it yet.

Regardless of the specific “Thank You”s during the month of November, I learned one very valuable lesson: Thanksgiving is an action, and attitude follows action.

Don’t feel grateful? Start looking for things to be thankful about and you will. Don’t like somebody? Start doing nice things for them and now you’re invested. Not motivated to work out? Lace up the sneakers and you’ll want to keep it up. Can’t stand raking leaves? Grab a rake and…nevermind…that will only make it worse, but you get the idea.

I’m pretty sure that thought is not original with me but since I can’t think of who to give credit to, I’ll just claim it as my own. I’ve lived the action of thanksgiving this month. I’ve been much more conscious of my blessings because I actively looked for one every day. Hopefully, I’ll keep it up, but for now…

Today, November 30, I am thankful that my action this month led to a change in my attitude.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 30, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

