30 Days of Thanks, day 29- Trees

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to be more intentionally grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

I like yard work.

Ok, that statement is only half true. I like being outside in nice weather and having a place that you can send your kids when it is too noisy during the football game. I like the yard part; it’s the work that I’m not too keen on. The reason is either laziness or apathy, I’m not quite sure. Which one ranks worse in the official Guide to Motes in Eyes (G2Me)? Not that one. My problem is definitely the other one.

Unfortunately the house we recently bought came fully equipped with a yard that requires work. It has two yards, in fact—one in front and the other in back. Fortunately, my family came fully equipped with a resourceful wife, only one this time, who poisoned the weeds in our driveway, pruned the bush that she likes but I can’t remember what kind it is, planted a few shrubs that she got on sale for $3 each, and filled the area around them with pine straw. Lest you think she is doing all the work I should mention that I mowed the lawn once and that was a tough twenty five minutes.

What the house did not come equipped with was trees. We have one little magnolia or willow or magwilliow (I really should pay more attention) in the back yard, but it doesn’t count. I feel that anything shorter than the house should be considered a shrub. I really do like trees and the oxygen, shade, and homes for woodland creatures that they provide, but around this time of year they also provide a lot of unnecessary clutter in the yard.

There have been dozens of piles like this one stacked up in almost every yard in our neighborhood for the past two weeks. Mine was one of the few without the piles, but the only one with neither piles of bags nor a foot of unraked leaves. Every time I wave sympathetically at one of the poor souls suffering through yard work in the fall I will remember that…

Today, November 29, I am thankful for all of the trees in other people’s yards.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 29, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

