30 Days of Thanks, day 28- Health

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to be more intentionally grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Six years ago I was about to start one of the craziest times in my life. Here are the events and the approximate time frame:

December 8- Jack was born by C-section. Everything went well for the first several weeks then he started projectile vomiting about 30 minutes after he ate every meal. At the time, Janet didn’t think my “instant yogurt machine” jokes were too funny.

January 8- Jack was diagnosed with Pyloric Stenosis. The muscle that controls when food exits his stomach was too tight and was not allowing the milk out. It would curdle in his stomach and cause the vomiting. He was taken into surgery at the Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters in Norfolk that evening. The surgery went well and he was released two days later.

January 15- Janet stayed home from church with Jack and I got a frantic call from her just as the service started. One of Jack’s incisions had popped open and something was coming out. It turned out that “something” was just subcutaneous fat, but I am of the opinion that things on the inside of your body should stay there. Since it was Sunday and there were no scheduled surgeries at CHKD, we had to wait for the surgical team that was on call. Being in a dark, empty surgical floor waiting room is a strange, lonely feeling. They stitched him back up and made sure he was free of infection before sending him home on Monday.

January 16- I left 17 month old Sammie with a friend and went to pick up Janet and Jack at the hospital. As we were walking with Jack to the parking garage I fielded this call “Has Sammie ever had peanuts before?” I dropped Janet off at Sentara Leigh hospital where she met up with Sammie who was having a pretty severe allergic reaction. The next month was a blur of shots and allergy tests and epi pens.

February/March- Janet had several kidney stone attacks. I don’t feel that I need to elaborate on the details of this point, but caring for an infant and a toddler is tough enough when you aren’t passing stones.

April- Sammie, now 20 months old, fell off a single step and broke her leg. I didn’t think it was possible for a kid that young to break a bone but, what can I say, I have a pretty remarkable family. She spent the next eight weeks in a pink cast. Unfortunately, I don’t have a single picture of her in that cast, so if anyone else does I would really appreciate a copy.

Looking back on that six month stretch of life where my immediate family had three surgeries, an impossible broken bone, and several kidney stones along with the chores of a toddler and an infant I can’t help but wonder how we made it. Here’s the amazing thing—I don’t recall ever realizing how bad it was. I guess God gives grace and ignorance when necessary.

I’m not trying to say that those difficulties were in any way comparable to the issues that I see around me all the time, but they were very real and painful at the time. The problem is that I am rarely grateful for the health of myself or my loved ones until I remember a time when we didn’t have it. As we approach Jack’s birthday every year, I remember that time and…

Today, November 28, I am grateful for good health and for a God who helps us through times of poor health.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 28, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

