30 Days of Thanks, day 27- True Joy

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to be more intentionally grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

I had a great time this Thanksgiving. My cousin and his wife got to stay with us while his parents stayed with my parents. We got to eat Thanksgiving dinner with my grandparents and even went to Christmas Town at Busch Gardens on Friday night. I bought a new TV and spent about two hours setting up a wireless repeater at my house…and spent about two hours setting up a wireless repeater at my house.

All of this happiness came crashing down when Virginia’s quarterback, Michael Rocco, took a sack in the third quarter rather than throwing the ball out of bounds. That play took away any hope that the Cavaliers could mount a comeback against their in-state rivals, Virginia Tech. I love cheering for UVa, and I love cheering against Virginia Tech. What I’m unsure of is which I love more.

I can’t stand that everyone praises Frank Beamer’s discipline even though his program doesn’t appear to produce men of character. I can’t stand that I know so many Virginia Tech “fans” who cheer for the Hokies in football season and then are suddenly UNC or Dook fans come March. I can’t stand that UVa has beaten VT only once in their last thirteen matchups.

What made this particular loss so painful is that Virginia had gotten my hopes up. They had played their way into contention by upsetting Georgia Tech and Florida State. Yesterday’s game determined which team from the Commonwealth would be in the ACC championship and UVa got trounced 38-0.

I was upset. I threw a hat. I yelled at the TV. I said something about punching someone…it’s hard to remember exactly because I was in a serious funk for the rest of the evening.

And then I woke up this morning and didn’t even think about it until someone at church mentioned it. When they did I wasn’t even upset, I just laughed about it and realized that a sporting event doesn’t dictate my outlook on life. Sure it can affect my happiness for a little while (and the happiness of those around me), but it can’t change the really important things. Even though Virginia was beaten like they stole something…

Today, November 27, I am thankful that I can be joyful even when I’m not happy because my joy isn’t dependent upon circumstances.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 27, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

