30 Days of Thanks, day 25- Contentment

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to be more intentionally grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Unfortunately, the guys that helped me move didn’t break anything. Specifically, I was hoping they would drop my TV. I have been saying I’m going to upgrade my 27-inch CRT to an HD LCD or LED (that’s going from the big box kind to one of the flat ones for those of you who aren’t up on your technical abbreviations) for the past three years and just haven’t ever pulled the trigger. I missed my window of opportunity because my old TV is neatly set up in my wife’s giant, wooden piece of furniture that holds a TV (I have no idea what those things are called). If only they would have dropped the old TV I’d have a new one. Nothing screams necessity like an empty piece of furniture.

So now it’s Black Friday and I’m going through the same mental exercises that center around whether I need a new TV or not. The fact that I’m still at home well after daylight speaks volumes about my commitment to getting one. I’m not saying I won’t buy a TV this year. I’m not even saying that I won’t buy one today. I am saying that having a new TV isn’t so important to me. That’s why…

Today, November 25, I am thankful that I can be content with what I have…even if it looks like this.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 25, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You may be content even longer when you realize you can’t just upgrade the tv. A change of furniture is usually required because the newer tvs usually don’t fit the entertainment center. Yes, you can hang the tv directly on the wall if you purchase that accessory, but then you still need a place for the peripheral equipment and all the connecting cords.

What do you think?

