30 Days of Thanks, day 23- Generosity

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Thanksgiving is full of mixed messages. As a kid you’re taught that we are paying honor to the pilgrims who barely escaped starving…by eating our body weight in turkey and pumpkin pie. We sit around the table and say how grateful we are for the things we have on Thursday…and at 4:00 am Friday we are pounding the door down at Best Buy to get a Blu-Ray player for the TV in the bathroom. We watch the Detroit Lions…and insist that they are professional athletes. (Before both Detroit fans get upset and stop reading I know that they are good this year and will be rooting for them against the Packers just to spite my mom. Which brings me to my next mixed message.) We talk about spending time with family…then argue about the dumbest things, like football.

We all need a way to keep some perspective. Here’s mine.

This afternoon Sammie and I will do the same thing we’ve done on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving for the past three years. We will deliver food to a few families who are going through a tough time. We will have canned veggies, boxes of stuffing, gravy, pumpkin pie mix, and even turkeys that were all donated by the students of Gateway Christian School. In all, our school will be able to help about 25 families today.

Here are a few things I’ve learned since I’ve been directing our student council in heading up our Thanksgiving food collection and distribution the last few years:

  • Most people really are looking for a way to help others this time of year.
  • I’m always a lot more thankful when I sit down to a feast on Thursday after delivering a box of food to a family that really needs it on Wednesday.
  • Sometimes the people you don’t expect are the most generous. Two years ago, a boy came to me on Wednesday morning with a grocery bag full of food asking if it was too late to help the needy. I knew that his parents were without jobs at the moment and were on our list of people who could use some aid.
  • Some people give just to empty their cabinets. A rusted can of pickled black olives that expired in 2007? Really?

Helping with our food drive has made me more thankful for what I have, but has also given me the opportunity to say…

Today, November 23, I am thankful for the generosity and giving spirit of Gateway Christian School’s students and their parents.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 23, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

