30 Days of Thanks, day 21- the Simplicity of the Gospel

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Last night our church was able to witness an ordination service. I’ve got to confess that I usually dislike these. Before you judge too quickly and claim that I hate preachers and church let me explain. Ordination services usually have the feel of a wedding or graduation not a church service. Unless I really know the person well or have some personal connection I’ve always felt like a spectator, unable to really participate in the worship.

I was glad that they let Jon give his testimony during his ordination service because it helped to give us a little bit of a personal connection. We didn’t feel as much like mere spectators after that and definitely received a blessing from what he said. Here is one statement that really stuck out to me because I have such a similar testimony.

https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D6698033_7951184_652585

Jon was absolutely right. The gospel is unbelievably simple: man sinned, God loved him anyway, God sent His Son to die in man’s place, God’s Son rose from the dead, man only needs to accept the sacrifice to be redeemed.

Today, November 21, I am thankful for a gospel so simple that a young child can understand but sufficient to save all.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 21, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

