30 Days of Thanks, day 20- the Gimmes

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to be more intentionally grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

There’s a running joke in our Bible study group that the best answer to every question is “Jesus.”

What is the best way to overcome pride?
Jesus
What do most people overlook when determining if their lives are successful?
Jesus
Who signed up to bring breakfast next week?
Jesus

We call this the “Sunday School answer.” We all know that at some point, especially if there’s a tough or deep question, someone will unholster it. I view it as the equivalent of throwing dynamite in a game of paper, scissors, rock. It works, but people will accuse you of over-simplifying and stop playing/listening if that’s all you ever throw out there.

Growing up, I was led to believe that there was long-standing American tradition, dating back to the pilgrims and Indians, of not eating anything on Thanksgiving until the big family meal around 3:00. I later learned that the Pilgrims didn’t eat before the feast because they didn’t have anything else and were too busy tending to those infected with pneumonia anyway. When we finally did sit down at the table my dad would ask us all to say something we were thankful for. Because we were focused on the food that we had been smelling all morning, what usually came out was the shortest word possible to describe something for which we were grateful–“food”, “house”, “health”, and someone always had to say “family” despite wasting a few extra syllables.

During this month I’ve been avoiding the “gimmes”. I have been fearful that this blog would be viewed as shallow if all I did was list the same things a third grader would come up with. I let my pride get in the way of thanking God for His daily provision. In my Bible study group I am prone to overlook the simple answer just because it will seem obvious and, unfortunately, I have done the same here. Maybe tomorrow I’ll be thankful for something really profound and life-altering, but when asked the question “What are you thankful for?” I’m responding with the Sunday School answer…

Today, November 20, I am thankful for the gimmes–life, health, food, and shelter.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 20, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

What do you think?

