30 Days of Thanks, day 17- Heroes of the Faith

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

I got to spend a little time with my grandparents earlier this week. It’s really sad that the 30 minutes or so I sat and talked with them is the exception not the rule because they only live three blocks from me. But you know how it is with all of the soccer games and basketball games and late night meetings, my grandparents are just never home! Alright, maybe I’m projecting my guilt a little.

They played a few games of Bendominoes with my kids and we reminisced about past Christmases and spoke of relatives we hadn’t seen in a while. At some point Jack (or maybe it was Janet?) accused grandpa of cheating in the Bendomino game, but I am not prepared to address the validity of their claims. Either way it was quite humorous because grandpa made no attempt to defend himself, he just allowed his reputation to be his defense. The truth is his and Granny’s reputations are pretty reliable testimony.

Several years ago, I was helping clean out a storage closet at church and literally stumbled upon a box of old Contact magazines. Many dated back to the 1950s and I found myself enthralled with the stories from the Free Will Baptist denomination. I can’t tell you how proud I was to find this article featuring my grandparents in the October 1955 Special Missionary Issue.

I know that being born into a spiritual family doesn’t take away any personal responsibility, but I am incredibly thankful that I have some close relatives who have shown me the right way to live. I really hope that one day my grandchildren will be able to look to my life as a pattern the way I do to my grandparents’ lives. That seems like a long time from now, so I’ll just start this way…

Today, November 17, I am grateful to my grandparents for providing a godly example that I can follow.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 17, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

