30 Days of Thanks, day 16- Helpful Friends

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Under U.S. Copyright Law if a blogger’s spouse has a great story but does not have a blog, said blogger may use the spouse’s story as his own. I’m pretty sure that’s in section 3, article 17 of the U.S. Copyright document thingy. There’s no reason for you to look it up. Oh, you’re looking it up? Ok…while you’re doing that I’ll tell MY story:

Yesterday afternoon Janet took our two year old, Riley, over to play with her equally two year old twin cousins. I’m not even going to speculate on the interesting activities that those three participated in while being bossed around by the twins’ three-year old sister because hindsight reveals that the excitement was occurring in the front yard while they were playing in the back yard. The Virginia Department of Transportation decided to dig a trench seventy feet long and three feet deep on the right side of the road, completely preventing anyone who was unfortunate enough to have a car in one of those driveways from exiting. “Don’t worry, we’ll have it completely filled within the next three hours” was the explanation given to my wife and the others who were trying to leave.

Fortunately for Janet and Riley, who had to be other places before those three hours were up, a friend who lives close by was able to pick them up and give them a ride back home. Another friend gave me a ride back over there later in the evening to pick up the van. And that’s when it hit me—I have a lot of friends who have helped me recently. Here’s just a partial list of really big tasks that were my responsibility but would not have gotten done if not for the help of some friends:

  • 11 helped me move
  • 5 helped me demolish a shed in my back yard
  • 6 helped me demolish my old kitchen so the new one could be put in
  • 2 mowed my yard (they just saw it needed to be done and did it)
  • 7 helped me with Trunk or Treat
  • 2 bought coffee for our Sunday morning Bible study group (once again I didn’t even ask)
  • 2 took sound equipment to a wedding for me

I’m sure there are a lot more, too.

I know I’ll continue to need help and I know my friends will continue to be there for me. Who knows? Maybe someday someone will help me out with the split infinitive that has been in my opening paragraph all month. I really hope to be as valuable to my friends as they are to me. While I’m working on that…

Today, November 16, I am thankful to my friends for the incredible amount of help you give me and my family.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 16, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

