30 Days of Thanks, day 15- Thrift Stores

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Last week I pulled a muscle on the left side of my hip. I pulled the muscle by limping on my right foot for a few days. I was limping on my right foot because a blister had gotten infected. I had gotten a blister on my foot while trying to be a man and break in new dress shoes.

Side Note- I did defeat the shoes. I am wearing them now, blister-free.

Did you catch that? A new pair of shoes led to a blister, which got infected, which made me limp enough to pull a muscle in my hip. You can’t make this stuff up. Because I’m rather juvenile when it comes to pain tolerance, Janet wishes I was making it up.

Last Tuesday I took a group of students on a field trip to Chilled Ponds where they could ice skate and play indoor soccer. Since I was in pain from my hip flexor (I’m not really sure it was a hip flexor, but that’s what all the professional athletes seem to have trouble with, so I’ll go with that), I chose to wear khakis, a polo shirt, and my casual Steve Madden shoes. It was very important that I choose this type of non-athletic clothes and shoes so that I wouldn’t even be tempted to get out on the ice or field and hurt my hip even more. I probably should have worn a straight jacket and iron boots because I lost that psychological battle and ended up on the soccer field…right after I turned my ice skates back in to the rental counter.

I had fun and, fortunately, my hip was not the biggest casualty.

So far, it sounds as if I’m just complaining a lot in this post, doesn’t it? Well, uhhhh, yeah, I am. But here’s the point- I really wasn’t upset about those shoes biting the dust (or artificial turf in this case) because I’ve had them for almost two years and paid a total of five bucks for them. Yep, they were thrift store shoes, just like almost every other pair I own including the offensive, blister-inducing pair on my feet right now. I’ll probably replace those brown, casual shoes with another second-hand bargain.

This may come as a shock to some of you, but I am not wealthy and I love that there is an easy way for me to save a little money and still have the things I need. I’m not embarrassed at all to say I’m a thrift store shopper. Maybe I should be, but since I don’t mind telling everyone about it…

Today, November 15, I am thankful to those who donate their gently used stuff and the thrift stores that sell them to me at great prices.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 15, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

