30 Days of Thanks, day 14- Help Teaching the Truth

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

One thing I am not thankful for is the NFL’s regional coverage television policy. I would probably appreciate it if I lived in a home market of a good team, but the 757 is full of overly-optimistic Redskins supporters. Sunday after Sunday, year after year, I watch the ticker at the bottom of the screen more than I watch the games. That rotating scoreboard is a constant reminder that the remaining 98% of the screen could be filled with good football. To make matters worse, the head coach of the Steelers is from our area so the NFL granted us the secondary market of Pittsburgh along with Baltimore. Even when the Redskins aren’t playing we have to endure the Ravens or Steelers. Don’t get me wrong, I love defense, but the 757 has seen more flying unicorns than touchdowns on Sunday afternoon.

A really awful side effect of this is that my five year old son, Jack, has declared himself a Redskins fan. As a Giants fan I forbade him from cheering for the Egirls, but let him choose his own team otherwise. Yes, forbade. I don’t remember exactly how that conversation went, but I’m pretty sure I used the words disown, adoption, and nuclear holocaust. Sammie, my seven year old, chose the Vikings because they’re purple…which is about as good as any other reason, I suppose.

As long as Jack doesn’t grow up to be one of these guys, I’ll be happy.

Two weeks ago I was enduring another Redskins game when Sammie and Jack really surprised me with their knowledge. Jack asked if Tim Hightower was still hurt or if he was playing then asked about Grossman and Beck. Sammie, not to be outdone, asked if “All Day” Adrian Peterson had any touchdowns. I was floored that my kids had picked up on that information just from the little bit of football they have watched this year and from hearing me talk about it. I’ve got to confess that I was a little proud.

About an hour later, we were getting ready for the evening church service and I felt the need to prepare them for the Lord’s Supper in which we would be participating. I simply asked “We’re having communion tonight, do you know what that means?” For the next ten minutes I heard them carry on a conversation with each other (I really think they forgot that I asked the original question) about Jesus dying on the cross and how his blood and body were represented in the food items. They talked about His resurrection and His plan of salvation. They even asked each other if they had asked Jesus to forgive their sins. I was planning on using the opportunity to teach my kids something, but they already knew it…way better than I thought they did.

Sure, my wife and I taught them some of it, but the level of understanding that they had came from much more than the time I’ve spent. It’s obvious that they have had Sunday school teachers, Christian school teachers, children’s church workers, nursery volunteers and countless others who have drilled the same concepts into their minds. They know their stuff and it’s not an accident. I know that they are young and they still have to make some incredibly tough choices in their lives–including whether they will ultimately live for God or not, but for now…

Today, November 14, I am thankful for the many people who have reinforced what my wife and I have taught our children and helped them to understand God’s truth.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 14, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

