30 Days of Thanks #10- Group Prayer

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

I like to pray. I’m a Christian, I’m supposed to say that, right? Although I cannot claim to always feel this way, there have been periods in my life when I really look forward to my time with God and find myself doing a decent imitation of praying “without ceasing.”

Usually these spiritual plateaus in my life are preceded by some external stimulation. Most notably, being around someone who is genuinely close to God makes me want to live that way. I am almost always encouraged during times of intense group prayer.

Last night the men of Gateway Church used our normal Bible study time to talk about prayer, split into groups of 4-5 to discuss specific needs and pray for them, and then ended the evening gathered around the altar. I ended up in a group of 4 other men who are all at least 20 years my elder and all godly men. The crazy part is that they asked me to lead the group and I was humbled as I listened to their needs and genuine pleas for guidance from their Heavenly Father.

I left that meeting determined to have the type of relationship with God that I saw in them and am determined to live on the plateau. I’m not certain it’s possible to live on the mountaintop permanently, but I really want to find out and until I do…

Today, November 10, I am thankful for the opportunities I’ve had to be around godly men and for the encouragement to draw closer to my Savior because of those times.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 10, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

