30 Days of Thanks, #9- A Sense of Humor

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Here’s a well-known fact: Teachers hate picture day as much as students love it. The reasons for the hatred are the same. Picture day is semi-chaotic and full of a lot of wasted time and needless nitpicking. A 100 x 200 pixel black and white picture in the yearbook is definitely not worth all the fuss. But that’s not what the photographers are after anyway. Their goal is to take pictures that will make the parents of each student want to spend $50 on the memories of braces, bows, and pig-tails, plus send the online link to grandma for another $50 order.

Maybe I’m just sadistic enough to enjoy it, but the one redeeming factor of picture day is that I get to see my high school students’ reactions when we hand them their pictures back. There are quite a few different reactions but here are the basics:

  • Needlessly Mortified- usually a girl who realizes that one particular strand of hair was exactly 1.3 centimeters too far to the left and is irate that the photographer didn’t reshoot.
  • Appropriately Mortified- Over the past nine years I’ve seen some pretty bad pictures.
  • Ignorantly Blissful- This guy should be mortified but doesn’t realize just how bad his picture is so he’s showing it proudly to everyone.
  • Quietly Hiding- She probably has a decent picture but you will never know because that picture will never see the light of day. This student is likely to fork over $50 of her own money just to make sure that not even her parents see it.

Teachers, at least at our school, are given their pictures free of charge. I’m not really sure why because I’ve never seen pictures lining anyone’s hallway with little labels underneath reading “age 26, age 27, age 28…” For me, getting these pictures back is usually pretty non-eventful as I am almost always in a perfect teacher pose. Like this one that I got yesterday:

Getting that picture reminded me of last Spring’s picture and that was a different story. I have never laughed so hard in my entire life at the picture that was given back to me:

What makes this even funnier is that I specifically remember the photographer looking at the screen to make sure it turned out ok and saying “yep, that looks good—no need to take another.” What in the world was she thinking?

I choose not to be in any of the categories above. I’m choosing to laugh at myself and share the laughs with everyone else. I’m very glad that shot did not make it into the yearbook, but even if it did…

Today, November 9, I am thankful that I can laugh at myself.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 9, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

