30 Days of Thanks #8- Plan B

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

I gave it a shot. I honestly did. Apparently the critics were right and the Kin Two phone is a piece of garbage. At least mine is.

After years of promises, Microsoft finally released its “iPhone killer” in May of 2010. Unfortunately for the software giant, the Kin series was doomed to fail from the beginning because it had a lot going against it:

  • It was really late to the smartphone game. The 3rd iPhone was already out.
  • Android was firmly established as the platform of choice for non-drinkers of the Apple Kool-Aid.
  • At $200 even on a two-year contract it was a very expensive handset.
  • Verizon refused to release it without a mandatory $30 per month data package.
  • Exactly zero apps. You couldn’t download a single game or anything else for that matter.
  • It was missing features that every phone since the tin can had. It didn’t have a calendar, the ability to forward messages, contact groups, and a way to backup or import contacts.

All of this added up to most of the handsets being returned and the Kin line being pulled from the shelves within two weeks.

So then Verizon and Microsoft had warehouses full of these useless handsets all summer, and in November they did the only logical thing–lower the price to try to get rid of them. In order to move the product, Verizon agreed to sell the Kin as a “feature phone” (dumbphone) and not require the $30/month data package. That’s when I got interested because now the Kin was the most impressive non-smartphone ever:

  • 8 MP camera
  • 8 GB internal memory
  • Wi-fi
  • Zune player
  • email client
  • HD video camera
  • $50 – $50 rebate = free with a two year contract

Since my contract was up and I had been using my Samsung Alias 2 for almost two years, I decided to try the Kin Two and even got it’s younger sibling, the Kin One, for my wife. I really did enjoy the phone despite some of its quirkiness, but last week the light started to flicker…literally. The graphics card is obviously going bad and the touch screen has been getting progressively worse. Yesterday there were two separate occasions that I couldn’t get the screen to turn on at all.

A few years ago I started using a phrase that has caught on with some of our staff. “Plan B has become Plan A.” It simply means that something we can’t control has changed our situation, but we are going to treat the back-up plan just like it was the best plan all along. There’s no use dwelling on what might have happened if things were different. In my situation, the old Alias 2 was Plan B. I had kept it knowing that the Kin had a history of problems and would probably need to be replaced. The Samsung is now my phone. It’s functional and even superior in some ways, primarily that the screen works. Plan A.

“Plan B has become Plan A” is a great mantra for something as insignificant as a phone or a rained-out field trip, but in the bigger issues of life I have a problem accepting Plan B. I think I know what should happen and I don’t like it when my plan is changed. Sometimes I even try to force Plan A long after it has obviously kicked the bucket. Admitting that Plan B is the only option isn’t easy.

It seems that recently God has been whispering to me, “Your Plan B has been my Plan A all along.” I just need to get on board with His plan and realize that I don’t like Plan B simply because it wasn’t my idea. Hopefully I’ll understand it someday, but until then…

Today, November 8, I am thankful that God has known Plan B all along and will guide me through it faithfully.

Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Matthew 6:10 (KJV)

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 8, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Awesome post Jeff!! You have just put into words what has been happening in my life recently.

  2. Nice article, but all i got out of it was “The Samsung is now my phone.”

    When’d you get a Samsung? 😉

    Seriously though…thanks for these articles. They’re always a good read.

  3. I appreciate the kind words, guys.

What do you think?

