30 Days of Thanks, #7- God is in Control

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Unfortunately, the soundtrack of my life is usually an earworm—the annoying song that resides, like a parasite feeding on valuable brain cells, inside my head. Even more unfortunately, the earworms I get are usually not uplifting at all, in fact, they are downright annoying. After watching college football Saturday evening and inadvertently having commercial jingles pumped into my head the entire time, I woke up Sunday morning singing a popular ’80s tune by Loverboy. I’m not proud that some of my long term memory is used up in knowing those lyrics. Besides, it’s not easy preparing your heart to worship God at church while you’re humming “you want a piece of my heart?”

On the positive side of the earworm spectrum is that occasionally the song I’m subconsciously singing is extremely uplifting to my spirit and springs from a genuine desire or emotion. This morning that is the case. Here is what is in my head as sung by GC3- that’s what David, Daniel, and I have secretly referred to ourselves as, The Gateway Church Trio:

https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D6698033_7951184_656731

I was going to attempt to express my thankfulness to God for being Who He is by writing out a long essay, but I think that song sums it up.

You are God alone.
From before time began,
You were on Your throne, You were God alone.
And right now, in the good times and bad,
You are on Your throne, You are God alone.

Today, November 7, I am thankful that I serve a God who is in complete control.

 Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases. –Psalm 115:3 (ESV)

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 7, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

