30 Days of Thanks #6- A Resourceful Wife

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

After telling you about my blind hanging experience, it is probably no surprise to you that I hate Lowes and Home Depot stores. I’m not opposed to having everything you could possibly need for a DIY job under one roof and I am certainly not campaigning to close them. So the angry mob of Tim Taylor disciples can put down the jet fuel-powered pitchforks and stop storming toward my house.

I hate that I feel completely out of place in those stores, and it’s not just my lack of a NASCAR ball cap. I never have any clue which department I need to be in or what the thing I’m looking for is called. Thankfully, Al Gore invented the internet so I can do research ahead of time to correctly pronounce the item I’m looking for. Sometimes.

Yesterday, I decided to fix our leaky shower door that was inexplicably on backwards. The wedge-shaped strip of metal (I couldn’t find a name for that on the internet) that supposedly pushes the falling water back into the shower instead of under the door was on the outside. Also, half of the shower door sweep (I did find that one’s name) was missing. It’s a piece of plastic or vinyl on the bottom of the door that keeps the water that finds its way under the wedge from completing its journey to the bathroom floor.

Easy fix, right? Here was my plan:

  1. Go to Lowes and buy a new shower door sweep
  2. Take the wedge-shaped thing off the outside of the door
  3. Attach the new sweep to the wedge
  4. Attach the wedge to the inside of the door with two-sided tape
  5. Put a thin line of caulk at the top of the wedge

Despite taking the better part of my afternoon, the only one of those steps that was actually completed yesterday was #2. Neither Lowes nor Home Depot had shower door sweeps that would work and the wedge-shaped thing was a quarter of an inch too long to attach to the inside of the door. Hopefully I will be able to borrow a saw and at least get the wedge on this week, but in the meantime I have removed the little bit of leak-proofing that was there in the first place.

That’s when my wife’s inner redneck came out. She grabbed a roll of duct tape and a strip of plastic and came up with a brilliant (hopefully temporary) solution.

I really am trying to get better at that type of thing, but for now…

Today, November 6, I am thankful for my wife for being resourceful and patient when I am neither.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 6, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

