30 Days of Thanks #4- Asking the Right Way

I am privileged to be on my church’s media team. There are 10 of us who are directly responsible for making sure that the lights, audio, projectors, cameras, computers, and graphics are all functioning properly all over campus. We call ourselves Sound, Light, And Video Engineers. Yeah, you read that acronym right.

As a member of this team who also works full-time on campus, I get asked to help a lot with media during the week also. “We need a microphone for…” “Can I use the projector in the auditorium to…” “Some kids messed with the gym sound system and…” “My VCR won’t work.” Since I enjoy working with geeky equipment, I don’t mind helping…most of the time. There is one glowing exception.

When I was in high school, one of my teachers had this sign hanging in her classroom:That sums up a media ministry. We are really passionate about what we do and love using our knowledge for God’s glory. We also understand that most media-related projects take time and we have all received these calls: “We have an event and need some slides (feel free to make us a logo), a movie with an original soundtrack, and 17 wireless microphones. It starts in 14 minutes. I tried to turn on the projectors but the computer shut down right after I cleaned up the Diet Coke.”

That’s why I was really grateful when last week a teacher came to me and asked if she could use the video system in the chapel this week. She even asked if I could show her how to turn it all on herself ahead of time so she wouldn’t have to bother me during the day. Then, the most amazing thing happened—she set an appointment to meet in the chapel and make sure everything was working the way she needed it to.

Needless to say, I was thrilled to help her. I loved that she planned ahead and was considerate enough to ask for help ahead of time. I’ve discovered that being a servant is easy when others are so gracious. I know it won’t always happen that way and that genuine emergencies do occur, but for now…

Today, November 4, I am thankful to Mrs. Elliott for asking for assistance in a way that made it a pleasure to help her.

Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another; -Romans 12:10 (KJV)

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 4, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

