30 Days of Thanks #3- Wise Teaching

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

I had the privilege of being a teenager in a church that had a great youth group. As everyone knows, church youth groups are built on pizza and crazy activities, and we had a lot of both. I remember the trips all the way to Alabama for camp, the missions trips to Mexico, the Monday night Bible studies on the beach, the drop-ins after church on Sunday nights, the goldfish-eating, and the pies in the face.

I also remember a lot of frustration. As a teenager I felt like I was constantly being asked to do the same things over and over. I was, within my own mind, very critical that our youth pastor, David Sexton, constantly emphasized the same things—having a personal walk with God and being active in the ministry of our church. Come one, man! Give me something deeper!

I remembered all of this because today was my day to preach in high school chapel and I faced the same dilemma he must have faced many times. Do I try to dig out something deep enough to make them really think or do I hit the real need of their hearts? Now that I’m older and have a consistent, personal relationship with Christ, I understand why Bro. David told us the same things over and over—because that is what we were missing. Going deeper in God’s Word is practically useless if you aren’t obeying the simple things. I’m very glad he hammered that into my head. I owe my current walk with God to his pestering.

Today, November 3, I am thankful to David Sexton for giving me the truth I needed rather than the superficial mental stimulation I wanted.

As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby: -1 Peter 2:2 (KJV)

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 3, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

