30 Days of Thanks #2- Learning from Mistakes

During the month of November I am writing about the first thing that I am consciously thankful for each day as a way to intentionally be more grateful. Check out the first one for more information on why I am doing this.

Yesterday I messed up. Twice. In reality I messed up a lot more than that yesterday, but I’m really upset because I made the same mistake twice. On two different occasions I said something to two different individuals that I hoped would be helpful, but neither time was what I had to say necessary or uplifting. I was genuinely trying to help, and even though I was trying to be encouraging, I knew the statements could be devastating. Obviously they were.

Both times my words caused a look of visible defeat to come across the listener’s face. Have you ever seen that look on someone’s face? The you-just-crushed-my-spirit look? The worst part is that I never have any idea what to say or do after that. I feel like a performer in some kind of twisted circus. “For my next act, I will rip your beating heart out of your chest while simultaneously stabbing you in the back!”

This morning I got another chance. I had to relay some delicate information and had a little time to think about what I would say and what I would leave out. With the thought of those two faces still fresh in my mind, I was able to be more kind this morning. I was able to get my point across without being hurtful. I was able to be discreet yet emphatic. I didn’t make the same mistake a third time. That trilogy would have been all dark side.

Today, November 2, I am thankful that the Lord gave me a chance to learn from yesterday’s mistakes.

For though the righteous fall seven times, they rise again, but the wicked stumble when calamity strikes. Proverbs 24:16 (NIV)

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on November 2, 2011, in 30 Days of Thanks. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

