Less Than Ideal Anger Management

One summer afternoon when I was 14 I walked home from soccer practice needing to shower and change before a church activity that night. No one was home and the door was locked. My parents, wisely, didn’t let us spend a great deal of time home alone so I didn’t have my own key.

This may come as a surprise to exactly zero people, but I have been known to have an anger problem. Anger is probably my most visible sin and has been for as long as I can remember. The pencil lead that has been in my brother’s arm since 1993 is a monument to my Hulk-like tendencies. But that’s a different story…let’s recap: 14 year old boy, locked out of his house, in a hurry, serious anger issues.

One of my parent’s cars was in the driveway and I thought “Surely they knew that I would be in a hurry and would need to get into the house, so they probably left me a key or at least some clothes in the car.” Surprisingly, the minor hygienic and social problems of a 14 year old weren’t the main concern of my parents that day so there were no keys anywhere to be found.

So then I was livid. How could my parents have been so negligent to leave me outside on a warm summer day for 15 minutes? I decided to vent the anger toward my parents out on the car. It was their car, after all. The following events all happened in approximately 1.8 seconds:

I slammed the door but was completely unsatisfied with the results because the strength of the slam was not proportional to the anger I felt. So I opened the door again and slammed it even harder. As I stepped back with a feeling of satisfaction, admiring the way the car’s suspension kept it bouncing back and forth as if it knew who was in charge, I looked up to see my pastor pulling into the driveway. To this day I don’t have a clue why he was coming over at that particular moment, but I do remember the lovely shade of red (somewhere between maroon and crimson) that my face turned in an effort to blend into my surroundings.

Here’s the part where I’m supposed to talk about how bad anger can be, but I have learned that most people stop reading my posts after the embarrassing story so I’ll leave you with a verse then give you the option to choose which application you want to make. Besides, I can’t decide what direction to go with this one.

Good sense makes one slow to anger, and it is his glory to overlook an offense. -Proverbs 19:11 (ESV)

Application Options:

  • Anger usually makes the angry one look foolish.
  • Anger stems from pride. When we think too highly of ourselves we get offended if everything isn’t as easy as it should be.
  • Most of the things we get really angry over are really small.
  • It’s a lot easier to be angry when the person you’re angry at isn’t around.
About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on October 20, 2011, in Biblical Thought and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

