I Got to Interview My Hero

Jeff Postlewaite has been an inspiration to all of us here at 141plus and it is not an exaggeration to say that without him this blog would not exist. Recently he was kind enough to answer a few questions about his attempt to read the entire Bible through in 90 days.

141plus: Thanks for talking to me today, it really is an honor.

Jeff: No problem, I love talking about myself.

141plus: That’s why we like you. Tell me how you came up with the idea for B90X.

Jeff: As much as I hate to give credit where it’s due, I’ve got to say it was @webby778’s idea for our 20somethings Bible study to do it. I think it was @bulaski3 who came up with the name.

141plus: What did it involve?

Jeff: It was really simple—I think that’s what I liked best about it, its simplicity—just try to read the Bible through in 90 days. We started on June 16 and were attempting to be done by September 13.

141plus: When did you finish?

Jeff: October 7

141plus: So you failed…

Jeff: No, I succeeded at B113X!

141plus: What caused the delay?

Jeff: I got behind three times before September and caught up all three times. In September school started and I got into the New Testament. School limited the amount of time I had to just sit down and read and the New Testament has too much doctrine to read quickly. Even when I spent the same amount of time I wasn’t reading as much because I caught myself re-reading a lot.

141plus: With all due respect, it sounds like you were trying to read the Bible quickly just so you could tell people you did. I know you posted about it on your blog TWICE and even made a public Facebook group to tell people about your progress.

Jeff: Ever notice that when people start a sentence with “with all due respect…” what they say next is never respectful?

141plus: Hey, I’m doing this interview, I’ll ask the questions! If your purpose wasn’t building your ego, what was it?

Jeff: I needed a metaphorical kick in the pants. Some would say I needed a not-so-metaphorical kick in the pants. I felt that my personal devotion to God’s Word was lacking and I needed a reason to hold myself accountable to systematically going through the Bible.

141plus: You can’t tell me that you actually absorbed all of the information in the Bible reading through that quickly.

Jeff: You’re right, I can’t say that, but that wasn’t really the purpose. It was more about getting an overview of scripture and forming a habit of spending time in God’s Word.

141plus: Any unexpected benefits?

Jeff: I was surprised at how the habit has stuck. Even though I was very behind on day 90 there had been only a few days the entire 3 months when I hadn’t read anything. In fact, I’ve started a new Bible reading program since, but this one’s not quite as ambitious. It’s a one year chronological plan. I really feel that God’s Word is more a part of my routine life than it ever has been.

141plus: How many people actually finished B90X?

Jeff: I’m not sure. I know we started with about 30 and most, like me, got behind at some point. I know several who are still plugging along. The 90 day pace really was quite a commitment of time. I hope to hear of several others finishing soon.

141plus: It really was an honor to speak with you today. We are looking forward to getting you to write a piece for this blog sometime.

Jeff: I’m pretty sure you can’t afford me.

141plus: Probably not. Thanks again and I hope the satellite delay wasn’t too annoying.

Jeff: …glad to do it…what?

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on October 10, 2011, in General Info and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

