Dude! You’re Missing the Point!

This is a story about a curious little boy. I know it’s going to sound like it’s about me and my extreme nerdity, but just stick with me through my geekiness.

Back in November, I bought an iPad. Since then, I’ve downloaded some great apps (Quick Office and Tiger Woods) and some horrific apps (Yahoo! Fantasy Football). I’ve purchased some peripherals that I loved (Zagg Invisible Shield) and purchased some that I regret (Apple’s IPad case). One extra that surprised me, however, was my Elago capacitive stylus. It clips to my case and makes handwriting and sketching so much easier. It was well worth the $8 on Amazon.com.

Here’s where the curious little boy enters the story. There is a seven-year-old fellow at our church who is fascinated with that stylus. Every time he sees my iPad with the stylus clipped to it, he asks about it. “Is that for writing?” “Where did you get it?” “Why doesn’t it have a place to put it like on a DS?” “How much did it cost?”

He found my iPad after church one Sunday and played with the stylus while completely ignoring the actual gadget. He flipped it over and over in his hands, he tapped the soft tip on his finger and the chairs, he bent the clip back and watched it snap back into place about a thousand times. He tried to pocket it but his mom made him put it back before walking out.

Every time he becomes obsessed with that $8 stylus I want to scream “Dude! You’re missing the point! I am holding a device that has completely changed the world of electronics and you’re focusing on a cheap stylus?!”

I’m not going to make any application regarding this story except to say that as I was thinking back on his misplaced attention I was convicted and I will present you with the same questions that I asked myself.

  • What little thing am I focusing on too much?
  • What am I neglecting by doing so?
  • Am I completely missing the point of what I’m experiencing?
  • What kind of psychological harm could I cause to a second grader if I yelled “Dude! You’re missing the point!” at him in church?
About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on September 20, 2011, in Diversions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

