‘Tis the Season

It’s that time again! Every fall my wife claims to become a “football widow.” This is completely unfair because I ignore her for sports the rest of the year too. Here are a few things that I think I thought about thinking through while thinking about the college football action on Saturday:

Halftime is too long in college football. The NFL has somehow managed to keep every half time to 15 minutes, but for some reason, the NCAA lets teams take forever in the locker room. I’ll excuse the players from Auburn as they used this time to have a bake sale to help pay off the school’s debt to Cam Newton.

I don’t understand extreme conference loyalty in college football. I heard Alabama fans cheering for Auburn, Texas fans cheering for Oklahoma, and Michigan fans cheering for Michigan State. I’m a Virginia fan and I would only cheer for Virginia Tech or North Carolina if they were playing a team of Nazis. And I still hope they look foolish doing so.

Nike > Under Armor. See an absolutely sweet uniform? It probably has a swoosh on it. The two prime-time games on Saturday night featured four teams with Nike duds and, while trying not to sound too feminine, the games were aesthetically pleasing:

See a uniform that looks like a clown ate a box of Crayolas then threw up on it? Under Armor had something to do with that.

Disciplined but talented teams will lose a lot at the beginning of the season. Oregon was way more talented than LSU but killed themselves with fumbles and penalties. I think that some of their offensive linemen are already false starting for next week’s snaps.

Concussions will continue to be a problem until helmets fit. Although I have owned one for as long as I can remember, I’m not a brain expert. I do, however, understand that a concussion results from your brain bouncing around inside your skull. It seems to me that this would be reduced if your skull wasn’t bouncing around inside your helmet. I know that guys aren’t wearing their helmets tight enough because of how many of them were on the turf on Saturday. Just about every time I saw a helmet come off, at least one of these was true:

  1. The helmet slipped back on way too easily.
  2. The player had more hair than Bob Marley.

I’m not an expert on hair (for different reasons than my lacking of brain expertise), but it seems to me that a lot of hair might cause problems when trying to cover your head with a helmet. If guys are more worried about their sense of style than their safety, the NCAA should step in and make some rules about properly fitting helmets so these guys don’t cause permanent damage to themselves while doing their best Rapunzel impersonation.

The BCS is good for college football. I’m not saying the Bowl Championship Series is the best way to determine a national champion or that it even remotely works, but it does create a lot of interest that would, otherwise, not be there. How many conversations (read arguments) have football fans had because of this flawed system? If the BCS is ever replaced by a fair playoff that gives every team a chance to win, college football’s popularity will begin to dwindle. No one spends hours arguing over who is the best NFL team or how their pro team deserves a chance because it’s proven on the field. The NCAA would lose a lot of popularity if they gave the fans what they want…and somehow I think they realize that.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Diversions, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

