See What Happened Was…

When I find the need to exercise, I like to run at night. I find it fairly relaxing and stress relieving and, since heart disease is the death of choice in my family, I find it a form of cardiovascular exercise. I also find that if I run enough, I can eat about anything I want and not gain a pound. Since, apparently, I love to eat more than I hate to have heart attacks, I find that I should do something to tip the scales in a more healthy direction. And that’s when I found out that it helps to set a goal.

“Ten miles a week all summer long!” I proudly proclaimed to my wife. The way she shrugged and feigned an impressed smile encouraged me to add “and I’m going to add a mile every week.” So I laced up my Reebok Boston EZ Runner II shoes that she had given for my birthday last year and headed out. 1.9 miles and 17 minutes later, I was back. I won’t bore you with all the details, but on four runs that week I ran 10 miles in a little over an hour and a half.

The next week my brother was getting ready to move into his new house so I was helping him paint most every night.

The week after that my brother was actually moving and I helped him a lot.

The next week was our church’s staff retreat.

The next week there was a wild fire about 25 miles away that made our air quality really poor.

The next week was the National Convention of Free Will Baptists.

The next week running never even crossed my mind.

The next week I was running low on excuses and had to spend some time thinking of them.

This past week there was another wildfire! You wouldn’t believe how convenient these things are.

On Friday afternoon I was looking through my closet and saw my Reebok Boston EZ Runner IIs buried beneath my steel toed boots that I haven’t worn since helping my brother move and my softball cleats that I haven’t worn since our last game in June. Suddenly feeling like a complete failure and determined to do something about that feeling, I changed clothes, slipped on the Reeboks and went for a run.

I discovered that I’m in no shape to be running. I had to slow my pace. I had to stop and walk occasionally. I had to sit down on the curb and fish the rock out of my shoe. Ok, that probably didn’t have anything to do with not running in a while, but it sure was a major inconvenience. I didn’t feel like the same guy from eight weeks ago. Truthfully I’m not the same guy. I’m much better at making excuses and much worse at pumping blood than that guy. The good news is that I’m back on the horse and trying to stay healthy. Hmmm, maybe I could run on horseback…

Editors Note- When I first typed this out, I misspelled the word exercise in the first sentence as exorcise. I should have left it. That would have been a more interesting post.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on August 13, 2011, in Diversions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

