One Week Down

Some of the people in our 20somethings Bible study decided to try something crazy this summer and attempt to read the entire Bible in 90 days. If you want more information on why or how we’re doing it or if you’d like to join up, you can read @webby778’s explanation or visit our Facebook group.

This morning I finished my 7th straight day of reading about 45 minutes a day and have been surprised to learn a few things about myself, humans in general, and God’s Word:

  1. Habits form quickly. I decided to start a new morning routine for this reading plan by getting up, getting ready for work, then sitting down to read the Bible for 45-60 minutes before I left. I am shocked at how the routine seemed like it was something I’d been doing for years by the third day.
  2. God’s Word makes an impact. I had this idea that reading so much would feel like a junior high literature project–just get through the book–and wouldn’t give me a chance to really absorb anything, but I have been surprised to find myself thinking back on what I read throughout the day the same way I would a suspenseful TV show.
  3. The Bible is really concise. In a little over six hours of reading I have witnessed the creation and population of a planet, a sinless world, a sinful world, multiple murders, a few wars, the creation of languages, a worldwide flood, re-population of the earth, God making covenants with men, God’s people becoming slaves, God’s people getting out of slavery, God giving His Law to His people, the founding of the Old Testament sacrificial system and a host of other happenings in between. Charles Dickens took an entire novel to tell about one night in Ebeneezer Scrooge’s life.
  4. I needed this. Like most Christians I would say that “my devotional life could be better.” Which is Christian code for “There have been long periods of time when I haven’t even cared to hear from God.” I needed the pressure of something extreme to change my habits.
About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Biblical Thought and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is something that the LORD has really convicted me about lately too, Jeff. I’m glad you guys are doing something like this! Keep it up!

What do you think?

