Fast Food Apologies

I recently had two interesting run-ins at fast food restaurants in the same day. Yes, I ate fast food twice in the same day. Actually, I ate at three fast food restaurants that day but only had interesting stories from two of them. Yes, my eating habits are awful. Yes, I know that heart disease runs in my family, can we please just get back to the story?

I was at a Burger King with my dad for breakfast and when he asked for a #6 combo, the cashier asked “Would you like coffee, orange juice, or a soft drink with that?” He chose the soft drink, handed over his credit card, and waited patiently for his food. While waiting, he realized that he had been over-charged. Since no one else was in line, or in the restaurant for that matter, he asked about it.

Dad: I think I was over-charged. The menu says Combo #6 is $3.99 but I paid $4.78 before tax.
Cashier: Oh, that’s because you got the soft drink. It comes with coffee, but there is an additional $.79 charge for a soft drink.
Dad: But you offered me coffee, a soft drink, or orange juice.
Cashier: Yes, and it is $.79 extra for the soft drink and $.59 extra for the orange juice. The combo only comes with coffee.
Dad: The menu doesn’t say that and you didn’t tell me, you just asked which one I wanted.
Cashier: It’s always that way.
Dad: Don’t you think it should say that somewhere?
Cashier: Most people don’t mind.

Around 7:00 p.m. I was in a Taco Bell and the cashier asked “Would you like to try a $.99 Crunchwrap?” Of course I did and, as I was waiting for my food I noticed that I had been charged $2.59 for my Crunchwrap. I mentioned it to the cashier and he apologized, went to the back to find a manager to give me a refund, and they both apologized again. When he forgot one item I ordered, he apologized again and stopped immediately to get my missing item despite the fact that he was very busy filling another order.

Everyone makes mistakes, but how we are viewed by others depends on a few things associated with those mistakes:

  1. Was it intentional? Were you trying to gain an advantage by your actions?
  2. Did you take responsibility or try to blame others (including the one who was hurt) for the misunderstanding?
  3. Did you make it right as quickly as possible?

Guess which one of those places I won’t mind going back to in the near future.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Society in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

