Rory was Amazing, but…

Justin Leonard punished in a bunker at the 2009 U.S. Open

I really hated the U.S. Open this year. Yesterday 22 year old Rory McIlroy won the USGA-sponsored golf tournament by eight strokes. I’m not upset that a young guy won. I’m not upset that he won by so much. I am not even upset that he dominated the course shooting a record-breaking 16 under par over the four rounds of golf.

I’m upset that there were 19 golfers under par.  You see, the U.S. Open is known as “golf’s toughest challenge.” The winning score hasn’t been under par in 4 of the last 7 U.S. Open Tournaments. In fact, since World War II, 26 of the 65 tournaments have been won by scores of par or greater. Usually the United States Golf Association (USGA) intentionally sets the course up to be incredibly demanding, but this year they were shortening holes and cutting the rough to make it less punishing.

Why does it bother me that it wasn’t brutally tough this year? Because I’m an average golfer and I like seeing the best in the world struggle the same way I do. I like seeing that the professionals are fallible. I like seeing them hit the water and miss putts. I like to feel like they are just like me…if only for one tournament a year.

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Diversions, Sports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

