It’s Your Birthday!

Everything seems different on my birthday. I wake up thinking “It’s my birthday!” and that thought seems to trump all others for twenty-four hours. It doesn’t matter what happens, I relate it to my birthday. It’s not just breakfast, it’s my birthday breakfast. It’s not just the shirt I wear, it’s the shirt I wear on my birthday. When something good happens I think “It’s cool that I didn’t hit a single red light on my birthday.” When something bad happens it’s “I can’t believe I failed a test on my birthday.” (That never happened, mom. Really. It’s just an example. I don’t even remember what I made on that 10th grade literature exam. Besides, that was a long time ago.)

I recently read Colossians 3 and couldn’t help but think this is the type of mental adjustment Paul is describing. In verse 3 he tells us to “set your affections on things above” or focus our thoughts on the eternal. In verse 16 we are instructed to “let the word of Christ dwell in you richly.” The Word of God should be alive and flourishing within our minds. Verse 17 follows that command by letting us know that “whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.”

When was the last time that God’s Word dominated my thoughts? When was the last day that I woke up thinking “I have an eternal home in Heaven”? Why don’t I immediately praise God for small blessings the way I credit good fortune to my birthday? Shouldn’t every one of my words and actions be painted by my relationship with Christ? Shouldn’t every day be my spiritual birthday?

About Jeff Postlewaite

high school principal since '07, father since '04, teacher since '03, husband since '03, sound tech since '96, UVA fan since '92, gadget junkie since '89, Christian since '88, Giants fan since '84, golfer since '83, brother since '83, human since '81

Posted on June 17, 2011, in Biblical Thought and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s really thought-provoking and very true. Thanks for sharing!

What do you think?

